Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Children leaving

Next year my eldest is entering college. It's her dream (and her parents' too, I'm not ashamed to admit) to go to college in the US. For a while, we've been discussing endlessly about her preparation, her choice of major. Amid these discussions, we talked about how she needs to be careful in relating to her college mates, particularly boys (as you've probably guessed!). Living in Indonesia, we discussed this with other relatives. My parents suggested us to make clear points to our daughter, would she be allowed to have boyfriend, if we allow her, then we need to tell her things that she can do in details (touching hands, kissing, etc.).
So, one of my relatives said that girls need to be really careful. I forgot if he said having a boyfriend was ok/not. Especially things that connected with sex. I agree with him basically. What I don't agree is the REASON that he gave as to why girls need to be careful.
For guys (he said) it is all just a game. Guys don't want relationships. Once they "got" a girl, they would discard her. Behind the girls' backs guys compare girls like they compare sports teams. And they compare their "scores". That's why girls shouldn't trust guys so that they wouldn't have heartbreak or worse, get pregnant/STD.
As I said before, I agree that girls should be careful. But, it's both ways. Guys have to be careful too. This relative makes it sound like that girls are as fragile as crystal. Girls today are not that fragile. To me it sounds like it's undermining girls. (And to think that he has 3 girls!) Girls do need to be cautious and aware. But not that cautious that they miss experiences, or worse, they said one thing to their parents and did the opposite. I think that good and not so good experiences can be beneficial. They build your personality. Also, I think it's never wise to say not to do this and not to do that to children, especially when you're thousand of miles away.
As parents, we need to support our children with positive words, words of wisdom and encouragement, not with words that make them paranoid and naive. When our children are overseas (or for that matter living with us) studying, we do need to stress that their study is their first priority. Everything else come second. There are also several practical things that we can advice the children to do:
1. get involved in church (mainstream church)
2. never go to parties alone
3. always hear their "gut" feeling. When their gut says something is not right, they should
leave the situation, etc.

Monday, August 17, 2009

Exhausting parties

A month ago we held a party celebrating my mother's 70th birthday. Though the preparation gave me headaches, it went great. About a hundred invitations were given. It's a seated lunch. So, we need to call back everybody and confirm if they would come. About ninety percent came. Plus some others that were invited without us (by us, I mean the organizer, my sisters and their husbands, my husband) knowing. You know families. The party went smoothly, the room was full, food was great. Everybody stayed until almost the end of the party. And it lasted four and a half hours!! Ok, ok this isn't exactly about the party.
Now, the next week I met one of my relatives. Naturally, we talked about the party. He said it was great and bla, bla. THEN, he complained that everybody willingly and happily came to parties like this, but fewer and fewer people came to traditional batak wedding parties. Huh??!! Pleaaaseee, it doesn't take a genius to figure that out.
In traditional batak parties, there are usually more than seven hundred people. Naturally, the room has to be outrageously large. Then the host family is almost always so afraid that nobody can hear "the important guests" talking in the front, so they always put the sound system volume to the highest!! The music is so loud. You have to almost shout to be able to talk to people seated next to you. The important adat guests in the front talked endlessly about things that have been decided!!
Now usually batak's wedding start with church ceremony in the morning (because a large number of batak is christian). Right after church, everybody goes to the party. So, the party starts around 12.30. And don't get me start on the guests who eat before the prayer! After lunch, then the important guests start talking again. Then it's time for some guests (about half) to congratulate the bride's and the bridegroom's families while giving them some money. The other guests would have to sit and wait, because different things are expected of them. More snack would follow, then coffee/tea. Then bottled water or sometimes soft drink. You can imagine the amount of money the would have to be spent.
Since there are a lot of people, you can imagine the heat. Recently, more well-to-do families get air-conditioned hall. So, it's a bit better,
Still. It's hot, it's noisy, and it lasts for hours. Most parties end around 6!! Now, is it any wonder that less and less people come? Come on. As the result of this, busy people ("people who are working or have careers") usually come after lunch (if they need to stay till the end) or they come just for lunch, congratulate (aka give their gifts) and go home.
Now, because of this, some batak people start to REALLY HATE traditional batak wedding parties. And I don't blame them. How can you enjoy such parties? The sad thing is, some people blame the batak culture. I don't agree with them, but then it's a whole different discussion.

Saturday, August 8, 2009

JW Marriott Bombing

Several weeks ago I read an article in Jakarta Post. Apparently, the writer got his material from Straits Times and other outside resources.
He said that there were signs that the hotel should've picked up. First, the person who called to book the room declined the first two rooms that offered. Second, he accepted right out the standard room rate. It's so rare in this times. Third, he put down $1000 cash deposit. Then, his identity card. The 2 copy machines in the hotel's front office didn't work at that time. So the receptionist told the man to come back to get his id card copied. He never came back.
Now, what did this tell you?
Human Resources!! Now, it's common or okay if only one of this signs happened. But all of these signs?? The front office should have smelled that there's something rotten. And to think that the hotel was already bombed once. Goodness. The hotel's management REALLY need to reeducate all their employees.

Monday, August 3, 2009

Complain, complain, complain

Last night, I was driving from one of the malls in South Jakarta. I was anticipating a busy traffic since it was the beginning of the month, when everybody's (or most people's) bank account is still "virgin". Well, I was surprised. There's no jam at all. And I said to myself," Mmmmm, this is strange. This is odd. Did something happen? Anything that I don't know of?"
I got home. No news. No bad news that would keep people at home.
Then, I started thinking. Why did I have to think that's something strange? It seems that I'm always in a hurry to comment, or to complain. Well, I think a lot of people are. When the traffic is jammed, we complain. When, the traffic isn't jammed, we frown. When the roads are full of holes, we complain, because then the traffic would be so slow and it's bad for our cars. And when the roads are so nice, we also complain, because everybody would speed (taking advantage of the rare condition!!).
When we don't have money, or not enough money, we complain. But when we have a lot of things to do because we have money, we also complain. When we can only afford a small house, we complain. But when we have a big one, we also complain (!!) because it's hard to keep them clean at all times.
A lot of times, we forget to be grateful, and just enjoy... I, for one, need to do that. To feel grateful, to count our blessing more often.

Saturday, June 13, 2009

For a week now, I've been driving the kids to Pdk Indah for SAT and English courses. I take the TB Simatupang highway. It REALLY makes the trip much shorter!! I can't imagine how the trip gets without this highway. You see, with this highway I don't have to drive through the city. Can you imagine driving across Jakarta in the morning when everybody is scrambling to go to office?? Ok, well, this is not the main point.
The courses started last Monday. On that very same day, I have to teach in Bekasi, which is really on the very different direction of Pdk Indah.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

What kind of assignment is that??

Yesterday my son got a writing assignment from school. He was told to write a 100-word composition about "why he likes Jakarta". I was shocked!! To make sure, I asked him again, is he sure that his teacher doesn't tell them to write if they like/dislike Jakarta.
He said," Yes, mommy. We need to tell why we like Jakarta." My goodness!!
Why did the teacher tell these kids to write an opinion that, I'm sure, not everybody's opinion?? How can he be so sure that every kids in that classroom like Jakarta?? Why does every students have to be on one side? Why can't the kids have their own opinion?
Wouldn't it be better if the teacher gave the students an option? So the students can say if they like or dislike the city and give the reasons why. And, isn't it also better for the students themselves to be able to say what they want to say and learn to write it? Wouldn't the task be more attractive if the students can say what they want to say?
I'm so appalled many times at the quality of the teachers here. And to think that my children go to one of the best private schools in Indonesia. Can you imagine? I'm sure that qualified teachers are there somewhere. But, from what I've read in the papers, most of those teachers are qualified because they really care, so they read books, they have their own vision of what teaching should be. So, mostly it's not because of the training.
No wonder, people who have money get their kids into international schools here. Or national plus schools. Even though that term itself is pretty worrying. But, it's clear that parents are often disappointed by the quality of the teachers.

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

what's after death?

What happens after you die? Do you feel that your spirit rise above your body? Are you going to hear people talking about you? (Hopefully, you're going to hear nice words, although that might be wishful thinking..) Or are you just "not anywhere"? "Nothing"? Or are you going to see white light, and heavenly things surround you?
I've been mulling over this issue for some time. This is not the first time. When I was in my twenties, I spent some time thinking about it. It made me realized that really, life is special. Life is precious. And if you think about it, a lifetime is very short (compared to the age of this universe).
But it also got me scared. What really happens after you die? Regardless of what your belief, you wonder about the details. I don't know, maybe it's the human side of us, always curious, always wonder. Even though, when you're dead, can you really do anything about it? I mean, before you die you can always try to be good and do good to other human being. Not that it's easy. But you just have to try. Once you're dead though, you can't really do anything about yourself.
Well, at the first time I give this some thought, I got scared. Then I asked my younger sister. (You probably think why the heck I ask a younger person!) Yeah, I should've known better. Should've asked an older, wiser person. Because my sister said that she also thought about it once. She also got scared, so she just tried not to think about it. Huh??!
So, a couple of months ago, my family and I were looking around at a bookstore in Jakarta. Suddenly, right in front of my eyes, there was a book called "90 Minutes in Heaven" by Don Piper. In his book, Don wrote about his experience of death for 90 minutes and returning to life. He also wrote about why he needed to write this book, and his life after death.
The book is not boring at all, I mean, considering that Don IS a priest. And his life after premature death IS NOT easy. It was filled with excruciating pain while he was struggling to get better. He had to endure countless operations. He got depressed. He asked God why he had to go through so much pain when he already got a taste of what heaven was like.
Now, this is the interesting part. He described in vivid detail of what heaven was like. He got to meet dear old friends, loving relatives (of course, they all died already). It was very friendly, very loving. There was great warmth. And, there was music! Great music!
Of course, the book doesn't instantly make you go lalala towards death. I think you need to dig deeper in your belief to have calmness about death. But it gives you a glimpse of life after death. That it's very real, no more real than life on earth itself. I guess, it's an ongoing process.

Friday, February 6, 2009

Today I had a "smooth" ride taking my kids to school. It only took me about thirty minutes going to and fro. My kids go to the same school, a christian school (supposedly good, but I don't know..) in east Jakarta, very close to my house.
Do you know why it's smooth? Because at the intersection of Jl Pondok Bambu Batas and Jl Kalimalang, there were some policemen who directed the traffic! You would think then that, maybe those policemen are needed there because the traffic light doesn't work, right? NOOO. The traffic light works allright. You see, the traffic on Jl Kalimalang IS very heavy. So, being Indonesians, or maybe I should say Jakartans, motorists and car drivers (especially the infamous mikrolet drivers) do not want to stop when there is no policemen!! They keep going even though there's a red light right in front of their eyes! Now, the traffic from Jl Pondok Bambu Batas are mostly filled with parents or chartered cars of students (of the school where my kids go to). This is a two way, two lane street. Now, this school is located only about a few hundred meters from this intersection, on the right (to make it worse!).
Since they are taking school children, of course, they don't want to be late. Seeing that the traffic in Jl Kalimalang don't want to stop (when it's their turn to stop), they ALSO ignore the traffic light and keep making right turn going into Jl Kalimalang. Can you imagine?
To make matters worse, this Jl Kalimalang is a two-way street (each way has only one lane)! The traffic in Jl Kalimalang from opposite direction (the right of Jl Kalimalang) also wants to have their turn. Some of them want to go straight, some of them want to turn right left going into Jl Pondok Bambu Batas. So they struggle to have a turn, and at most times this, in turn, makes the intersection locked! You can imagine this not-so-big intersection jammed with motorists and car drivers going in four directions bumper-to-bumper, each trying to have its turn!!!
When there are no policemen guarding this intersection, it can take me an hour to get my kids to school, sometimes even more when the traffic jam is really bad. It's really a BAD way to start your morning. I used to feel angry, but now I just relaxed and just try to manage so that my car doesn't bump the motorists. You know, they are the king of the street in Jakarta.
I can't help feeling a bit sad though, thinking that Jakartans need a policeman to direct them, that they just can't obey the traffic light.
I guess what they say is true, that truly in Jakarta rules are meant to be broken.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

my better half

I'm amazed sometimes at my better half. One thing that amazes me is he really thinks that religion is a private part of one's life. And this extends to even his wife. He's very religious, even though he rarely talks about God, religion, etc. He really believes that your belief is between you and God. He only talks about it when we are specifically talking about it, such as, after sunday services, or when we're discussing our church with my dad (who is very active in our church)-you know, my family and my parents attend the same church.
He prays every day, before he goes to bed and when he wakes up. He knows that I rarely pray (now, that's another subject altogether). But he never says anything or make comments about it. I guess he probably thinks that he can't really do anything to make somebody talks to his/her God. Or he probably knows that I'd get defensive about it. The only thing to do may be asking for the Holy Spirit.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Father-Daughter Relationship

Last night, I read a message emailed to me by a relative. She's somebody close, or used to be. She had moved far away, and somehow she would made any reason not to go back home, even for a short visit. We've been having this three parties conversation online with a mutual friend for some time. Her father had been telling her that people should cut their sleep time because you don't really need that much sleep. She didn't agree with him of course, and I didn't either.
But, by the third exchanges, it seemed that she actually wanted to talk about her father. The sleep time wasn't the issue here. She got a bit emotional talking about what her dad said.
I know her father. He can be overbearing. He only hears what he wants to hear. But, I mean, who's perfect? Nobody's perfect. She's definitely not perfect. Besides, being a parent is one of the most difficult things in the world! There are no guide books, there's no course on it. There's no one proven single formula. And I can't believe that in her age of almost forty she still couldn't accept her father! I felt angry and sad at the same time.
I felt angry because, despite having lived overseas for a long time (you're supposed to be more objective when you are far away, right?), and despite getting the most education, she can not rise above her disagreements with her father and just accept and love her father just the way he is.
Well, last night I wrote to her that she should get past that emotional stage with her dad. I don't want to preach her about acceptance and all that. I know that she would be very defensive.
I also get another idea about all this. Sometimes parents don't realize that what they say and do matter a great, great deal to their children. Or maybe it's easier not to see that? Because when you do realise and understand that, IT IS BIG.

Friday, January 16, 2009

Feeling Grateful

Yesterday, I went out to have lunch with my 4 sisters-in-law. The husbands of three of them are my husband's brothers, and one is my husband's sister. I was the one who asked them to have lunch. It's just a fact that my family is the one who has the most money (unless one of them has some treasure stashed away...).
At the weekend before yesterday, our big family has some kind of formal traditional event in my house. The event went well, and after that we all had a good time, singing and dancing. So I thought, why not prolong it a little bit more? Especially since my husband's sister that lives in some other island, is still here in jakarta.
So, we all met at a pretty nice restaurant. We were exchanging info about how we got there, when one of my sisters-in-law told us that it was much cheaper for her to meet us at the restaurant. If she goes to my house first, it would cost her sixteen thousands rupiah, but if she goes to the resto it would only cost her eleven thousands!! I was speechless. She was talking about less that twenty thousands rupiah!! I would throw around that kind of money without thinking..
Of course, I felt pity for her. But, it made me realized that I'm so blessed. So blessed.

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Tuesday,
It turned out that there are more people out there in Jakarta who try to stick to the rules, who try not to throw trash around, who are just exasperated at the way jakartans seem to enjoy breaking rules.
One of these people wrote an article in jakarta post. He/she was on the verge of giving up. He believes that Indonesians can dream big and can do much better. One of his friends even suggested that he should relax his standards, to not hope for much, to just enjoy 'indonesian way'.
So, I write him a letter (I'm not sure if it will be printed) through the newspaper to just hold on, to be strong, to not give up to 'indonesian way'. I told him that Indonesia needed people like him.

Sunday, January 11, 2009

2nd Posting

I've noticed that there are a lot of people that, I don't know, don't seem to have self-confidence, peace within themselves about who they are or what they do.
Last week, I had a friend who told me that she just got back from office (I already know that she is a housewife that has mlm business). And she asked me why I only read (!)while waiting for my daughters doing their piano lessons. She kept on talking and she told me that she just closed a deal with a prospect (mlm language). My first thought was, Who cares?? This was not the first time that she talked to me about her mlm stuff. Really, it's getting annoying..
Every time I talked to her, she always told me about how busy she was.., that she hadn't come home since morning (it was in the evening), that she just got back from this place and that place.
Is her self-esteem that low that she had to keep telling that to the world???
I don't know..maybe I'm the one who's too content with my life. Is it wrong?

My First Posting

This is my first posting and I'm simply testing the blog.